Foam Rolling – #GameChanger

 

After a few days of being very sore after ball, I began googling different methods to reduce the soreness and foam rolling came up over and over.  I eventually saw a few players on the NBA court doing it before games.  I finally caved and went out and got one for myself.  I have a high density foam roller, which I have a love/hate relationship with.  I love how I feel AFTER I use it, while I’m using it is a different story. It can be a source of excruciating pain as it removes scar tissue and goes over tight muscles.

1435409754-1960216253_nThe way that a foam roller works is that it allows lengthening and massage of all the key muscles within the posterior tool-chain. A foam roller essentially allows self – myofascial massage, which in plain english means subjecting yourself through an excruciating deep tissue massage with no one else to thank but yourself.  While it is painful it provides many benefits, that I recommend it to all my clients…ok not clients, but anyone who has had issues with back pain.

The real benefits are that it allows elongation of the muscle fibres thereby releasing tension, built up within the muscle.  It also reduces soreness and cramping by gently (ok forcefully) removing lactic acid from the muscles.

I’ve added it to my morning routine, and prior to lifting or playing ball.

My routine consists of:

  1. Glutes – 30 seconds
  2. Hamstrings – 30 seconds
  3. Calves -30 seconds
  4. Left side IT band – 30 seconds
  5. Right side IT band – 30 seconds
  6. Quads – 30 seconds
  7. Shins – 30 seconds (especially good if you have shin splints)

If you have nagging back pain, I highly recommend you look into purchasing a normal or high density foam roller and use it consistently for results.

Its definitely top of my list of #GameChangers.

Leave a Reply

